News Flash

City of Dublin

Posted on: January 13, 2021

Summary of Actions Taken by Dublin City Council on Tuesday, January 12

At its Regular Meeting held on Tuesday, January 12, the Dublin City Council took a number of actions.  Below is a summary of actions taken:

  • Recognized sponsors who contributed to City events, programs, and facilities in 2020.
  • Announced the winners of the "Deck the Homes" Holiday Home Decorating Contest.
  • Recognized the winners of the Dublin Pride Week "Nature in Our Backyard" Photography Contest.
  • Introduced new City of Dublin employee William Wahbeh, Associate Civil Engineer, and reintroduced Steve Windsor, new Chief Information Security Officer.
  • Approved the minutes of the December 15, 2020, Regular City Council meeting.
  • Confirmed the Mayor's appointment of Steve Minniear to serve as City Historian for a four-year term, beginning January 2021.
  • Approved the following proclamations in the City of Dublin for the month of January: National Mentoring Month; National Slavery and Human Trafficking Prevention Month; and National Stalking Awareness Month.
  • Approved an updated Cricket Batting Cage Facility Rental Policy.
  • Approved funding recommendations for Fiscal Year 2020-21 for the Youth Advisory Committee Mini-Grant Program.
  • Approved a Commercial Façade Improvement Grant Program Agreement between the City of Dublin, Brooks Motor Cars, LLC, and Davis Enterprises, LLC, for the property located at 6440 Dublin Court in Dublin.
  • Approved an agreement for long-term encroachment for landscape features within the Boulevard development.  This will allow the Homeowners' Association to maintain project-related landscape and decorative features in the public rights-of-way. 
  • Approved a motion to request East Bay Community Energy (EBCE) to enroll City of Dublin residential accounts in the Renewable 100 electric power portfolio as the default electricity product provided by EBCE.
  • Appointments were made by Mayor Hernandez and approved by the City Council for the following Commissions and Committees:
    • Planning Commission - Stephen Wright and Dawn Benson were re-appointed to the Commission for additional four-year terms; Renata Tyler was appointed to her first four-year term.  Kashef Qaadri  and Elaine Bagwell were appointed as alternates, each for two-year terms expiring in December 2022.
    • Heritage and Cultural Arts Commission - Robert Bennett and Shweta Agrawal were re-appointed to four-year terms, while Margaret Liang and Julia Tomtania were newly appointed to four-year terms.   David Hess was appointed  as an alternate, to serve a two-year term expiring in December 2022.
    • Human Services Commission - Mayor Hernandez recommended the re-appointment of Shawn Costello, and the appointment of Regis Harvey and Adam Lumia, each to four-year terms.  Rose Hunt and Baljeet Sangha were appointed as alternates, each to serve a two-year term expiring in December 2022.
    • Parks and Community Services Commission - Matthew Giller and Vimal Pannala were each re-appointed to serve additional four-year terms, while Daniel Colley and Richard Thornbury were appointed as alternates, each to serve a two-year term ending in December 2022.
    • Senior Center Advisory Committee - Susan Bostwick and Eugene Daszko were each appointed to serve a four-year term, while Kebin Lu was appointed to fill an unscheduled vacancy for a two-year term ending December 2022.  Additionally, Christy Li was appointed to serve as an alternate for a two-year term ending December 2022.
  • Mayor Hernandez appointed the other councilmembers to serve on a variety of local and regional Boards, Commissions, and Committees.