Foreclosure Prevention

​At Risk of Losing Your Home?

Alameda County Housing Secure prevents displacement in Alameda County by providing free legal services and emergency financial assistance to low-income tenants and homeowners.

Mortgage Forbearance Requirements

The Tenant, Homeowner, and Small Landlord Relief and Stabilization Act (Act) of 2020 took effect on August 31, 2020. The Act applies to homeowners and landlords with four (4) or fewer properties, whether those properties are owner-occupied or not, and who have had difficulty making mortgage payments because of COVID-19. Read more...

Homeownership Preservation Foundation

Homeownership Prevention Foundation (HPF) provide counselors that mediate between you and your lender and explore available and realistic options to prevent foreclosure.  

Housing & Economic Rights Advocates (HERA)

Housing and Economic Rights Advocates (HERA) is a California, non-profit legal service and advocacy organization, which offers information for homeowners who want to protect themselves from foreclosure rescue scams, and gives homeowners who have been victimized by such scams options available to recover their money. HERA offers individual counseling with HERA staff attorneys and/or housing counselors to avoid foreclosure.

Fannie Mae

Fannie Mae launched WaysHomeTM, to educate homeowners about their options to avoid foreclosure, motivate them to make the right decisions, and encourage them to seek help. WaysHome is part of Fannie Mae's Know Your OptionsTM consumer initiative to help today's struggling homeowners.